Point A to F

“You can do anything you want to do, and whatever you do, you will be good at.” A phrase I was told as I was younger.  Have been naive, and young, with no motherly figure or the proper balance as a child, I have grown into the person I am today. Still young, I am developing and graciously learning, day by day.

I did not know how to achieve my own success. Or even really, think for myself. I just went with the flow. That is why I had to creatively find outlets for express. Now, after experience, and interacting with so many different individuals, I know that life is what you make it. I was always treated like a child, and enabled entirely too much, being raised only by a very loving, and generous father. Although I am infinitely grateful, I did not have the traditional life most people have, actually perhaps dealt an unfair set of cards, because I had no mother. At all. No motherly figure, and limited interaction with any women in my family – unable to develop strong enough relationships. I am not a psychologist, but I can tell you from experience, a girl needs a woman’s guidance. Which, I had to grow up without. I have grown stronger and will fuel that for my own success in life. Leaving the past being….and moving forward. Every day is a battle, everyday that I am alone, I must fight to keep following my dreams and moving forward in life. I have to give myself the inspiration make my self disciplined, no one else is going to do it for me. There are many people entirely worse off than me, so I am grateful for what I have and have been given in life.

Life is what you make it.

I know I can have everything I dream of, and more. I can have a happy family of my own, and great career that brings me joy.

Anyway,

I could intern for Complex magazine in NYC. That’s actually what started this entire thought process. I found a great inspiration picture on Complex.com’s art and style section.

http://www.complex.com/art-design/

But my passion would to be to work for a fashion company I am interested in. That really represents who I am more as a person. I’m more of a free spirit, and Urban Outfitters is a company I have been a fan of for years. The company includes Urban Outfitters, Anthropologie, Free People, Terrain, and BHLDN. 

For ever I have always said, I want an Anthropologie home, when I get older. I have always wished for an UO to be in the Boca Mall. Lastly, I love Free People, I have stated I wish there was one around so I could work there. The brand lifestyle is worldly, elliptical, and strange, yet cute. I love it. I want to follow my passion.

My passion.

Not what I am told to do, or to follow, but what I want for my own happiness. I am who I am, and I am proud and love myself. I am grateful for everything I have seen and lived in my life. Instead of looking at all the rotten apples, I look at the shiny red ones.

I must work on getting from point A to F. Acquiring disciplines and skills. So, I’ve been looking at job descriptions of these types of jobs. I will make lists and search for opportunities. I have gotten a job as a hostess at Bogart’s, which will bring in money, and hopefully I will get the internship at Helium. But, I searched for opportunities at the company I just mentioned before. I came across an opening for a Visual Display Coordinator at the Anthropologie store in Boca Raton. I would like to do this to learn, and I really am motivated to learn about the company, the textiles, the elements, combinding soft and strong pieces for display. However, a degree is required, and I am not there yet. Plus that is not what I want to do for a living, I just want to learn about the company and their product. So I will still focus on improving my design skill and finishing school…and finding other ways to focus on my interest with this company.

One thing at a time. Focus on what you love, and become really good at what you are best at. The opportunities will open up.

xx

The Boca Chica

Leave a Reply

