“Believe” said Barbosa

Fellow colleague, and FAU BFA Graphic Designer Edgard Barbosa told me today, “If you’re not gonna believe in your work, who will?” He said it in such an epic and natural accent it sounded as if he belonged in a movie. It was motivational, and I appreciated it Edgard. Thanks. It is inspiration for me to work on my portfolio day-to-day to pass that review and become a graphic designer.

Now let’s talk about Edgard, his work is astonishing. I told him he was legendary that day, I really look up to his accomplishments. Check it out on Behance.net below.  His work showcases his artful mind, he understands visual communication.  Being familiar with depth and form, he uses line and shape to create clean and pleasant work. I like his use of typography in the church flyers on behance, as well as the reference to Andy Warhol’s pop art, connecting both hunger and art with the Campbell’s soup cans.

Andy Warhol, Campbell's Soup I, 1968.

Andy Warhol, Campbell’s Soup I, 1968. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

So cool! Thumbs up

http://www.behance.net/edgardbarbosa

BelieveEdgardQuote

Edgard and mine’s conversation started after the Designer’s Edge meeting, because I had my 99u “Manage Your Day-To-Day,” book with me. Since I got it from Behance.net, and he’s got a portfolio I appreciate on there. With up-to-date book design, the writing style captures artistic attention. I thought, this book was written for a graphic designer, just like me trying, who is trying to find focus. I ordered the second volume, and it arrived the day Edgard told me those wise words. It’s called “Maximize Your Potential, Grow Your Expertise, Take Bold Risks & Build An Incredible Career.”

I was so happy that it was on my doorstep, it also came with, “The Town” DVD.  Haha ~ a something to look forward to take breaks from work. I do love Boston and these star studded action films! I can’t wait to hear Jeremey Renner’s accent, I blogged about the best Boston accents in movies, and Renner was included.

behanceBookstheTown

Images copyright © all rights reserved, Kristen Kelly

Leave a Reply

